Thursday, June 19, 2014

President Bill Clinton Named Recipient Of 2014 PGA Of America Distinguished Service Award

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla., June 18, 2014 /  The PGA of America announced today that it is awarding President Bill Clinton, Founder of the Clinton Foundation and 42nd president of the United States, its 2014 PGA Distinguished Service Award recipient for his lifetime love of golf and his commitment to health and wellness.
Begun in 1988, the PGA Distinguished Service Award honors outstanding individuals who display leadership and humanitarian qualities, including integrity, sportsmanship and enthusiasm for the game of golf. President Clinton will receive the Association's highest annual honor in conjunction with the 96th PGA Championship at Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Kentucky. Previous honorees include Bob Hope, Byron Nelson, Arnold Palmer, Patty Berg, Jack Nicklaus, and former presidents Gerald Ford (1991) and George H.W. Bush (1997).
"President Clinton's life in public service is a study in making a difference in people's lives. His own journey to achieve wellness has resulted in a passion that involves the game of golf," said PGA of America President Ted Bishop. "President Clinton shares the mission of the PGA of America to encourage our country's young people to develop a healthier lifestyle through golf. For his work and the example he sets to motivate young people, we are honored to present this year's PGA Distinguished Service Award to President Clinton."
After leaving the White House, President Clinton established the Clinton Foundation with the mission to improve global health, strengthen economies, promote health and wellness, and protect the environment. In addition to his Foundation work, President Clinton has served as the top United Nations envoy for the Indian Ocean tsunami recovery effort and as the UN Special Envoy to Haiti.
Since 2012, the Clinton Foundation has partnered with Humana, the PGA TOUR and the Desert Classic Charities to present the Humana Challenge. The Humana Challenge has showcased the long-term health benefits of simple lifestyle and behavioral changes.
PGA Distinguished Service Award Recipients
1988      Herb Graffis
1989      Bob Hope
1990      No recipient1991      Hon. Gerald R. Ford
1992      Gene Sarazen
1993      Byron Nelson
1994      Arnold Palmer
1995      Patty Berg
1996      Frank Chirkinian
1997      Hon. George H.W. Bush
1998      Paul Runyan
1999      Bill Dickey
2000      Jack Nicklaus
2001      Mark McCormack
2002      Tim Finchem
2003      Vince Gill
2004      Pete Dye
2005      Wally Uihlein
2006      Fred Ridley
2007      Jack Burke Jr.
2008      Dennis Walters
2009      William Powell
2010      Billy Casper
2011      Larry Nelson
2012      Dave Stockton
2013      Lee Trevino
2014      Hon. Bill Clinton
For more information about the PGA of America, visit

SOURCE PGA of America
561/624-8444ulius Mason, 561/624-8444,

No comments:

Post a Comment